Go to Applications

Toronto Hydro

Toronto Hydro Corporation is incorporated under the Ontario Business Corporations ActOpens in new window, with the City of Toronto as its sole shareholder. It is a reporting issuer under the Ontario Securities ActOpens in new window and is regulated by the Ontario Securities CommissionOpens in new window and the Ontario Energy BoardOpens in new window.

The Corporation operates the following two wholly owned subsidiaries:

  • Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited is the electricity distribution company that owns and operates $2.8 billion of capital assets. It is the largest municipal electricity distribution company in Canada, distributes approximately 19% of the electricity consumed in the province of Ontario, and delivers electricity to approximately 747,000 residential, commercial, and industrial customers in the City of Toronto. Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited is regulated by the Ontario Energy Board.
  • Toronto Hydro Energy Services Inc. is the energy services company. It provides reliable street lighting services.

Board responsibilities

The board is responsible for supervising the management of the business and affairs of the Corporation, including the following:

  • approving the overall business strategy
  • approving any dividend payment or distribution of capital
  • approving the financing strategy
  • ensuring the Corporation follows the Shareholder direction
  • appointing the Corporation’s officers and the subsidiaries' Boards of Directors

Term of office

The term of office for public members is two years, and members serve until their successors are appointed.


In addition to the general eligibility requirements in the Public Appointments Policy, the OBCA contains specific eligibility requirementsOpens in new window for directors of corporate boards.


The board has a total of 11 members including:

  • the Mayor or the Mayor’s designate appointed by City Council
  • 2 members of Council
  • 8 public members who are not elected officials or employees of the City of Toronto or any of its agencies or corporations, one of whom shall be the chair


In addition to the general eligibility requirements in the Public Appointments Policy, board members should collectively represent a range of expertise including:

  • experience on a public utility commission or board of a major corporation or other commercial enterprise
  • corporate finance
  • corporate governance
  • market development
  • large system operation and management
  • urban energy industries
  • public policy issues and laws relating to Toronto Hydro and the electricity market
  • environmental matters, labour relations, and occupational health and safety issues
  • commercial sensitivity and acumen
  • independence of judgement and personal integrity
  • at least three directors with financial management expertise


Meetings are held approximately five times a year or at the call of the chair. Members are also expected to sit on at least two committees.


  • The chair receives an annual retainer of $75,000
  • Board members receive an annual retainer of $12,500, plus $1,000 per meeting up to a maximum of $30,000

Related links


The current and historical Appointments for this body.

Apply now

Apply by April 22, 2024 if you are interested in being considered for Toronto Hydro Board.