Item - 2023.MM6.35

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on May 10, 2023 without amendments.

MM6.35 - Authorization to Release Section 37 Funds to Rebuild the Community Garden at 133 Broadway Avenue - by Councillor Josh Matlow, seconded by Councillor Amber Morley

Decision Type:
12 - Toronto - St. Paul's

City Council Decision

City Council on May 10, 11 and 12, 2023, adopted the following:


1. City Council increase the 2023 Operating Budget for Non-Program by $50,000 gross, $0 net, fully funded by Section 37 funds obtained in the development at 75 Broadway Avenue (Source Account: XR3026-3701211), secured for capital facilities in proximity to the subject site, for the purpose of providing one-time capital funding to Toronto Community Housing Corporation to rebuild the community garden, in consultation with Mr. Gorrell and the residents of 133 Broadway Avenue (Cost Centre: NP2161).


2. City Council direct that the funds be forwarded to Toronto Community Housing Corporation upon the signing of a Letter of Undertaking by Toronto Community Housing Corporation that governs the use of the funds and the financial reporting requirements.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Notice (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, need to be waived to permit introduction of Motion MM6.35. A two-thirds vote of Council Members present is required to waive notice.

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM6.35 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) May-11-2023 3:05 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM6.35 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 24 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Brad Bradford, Alejandra Bravo, Jon Burnside, Shelley Carroll, Lily Cheng, Mike Colle, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Paula Fletcher, Stephen Holyday, Ausma Malik, Nick Mantas, Josh Matlow, Jennifer McKelvie, Chris Moise, Amber Morley, Jamaal Myers, Frances Nunziata (Chair), James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Dianne Saxe
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Michael Thompson
Total members that were Absent: 0 Members that were absent are
Source: Toronto City Clerk at