Item - 2023.MM6.17

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on May 10, 2023 without amendments.

MM6.17 - Reducing Toronto Transit Commission Vehicle Delays for Streetcar and RapidTO Routes - by Councillor Chris Moise, seconded by Councillor Jon Burnside

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on May 10, 11 and 12, 2023, adopted the following:


1. City Council direct the General Manager, Transportation Services, in consultation with the Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Transit Commission, to review opportunities to introduce or extend left turn prohibitions at appropriate intersections, or alternatively introduce advanced exclusive left turn phases at signalized intersections, in order to reduce the delays to streetcar and RapidTO services, and report back by the fourth quarter of 2023.

Background Information (City Council)

Communications (City Council)

(May 6, 2023) E-mail from George Bell (MM.Supp)
(May 8, 2023) Letter from Alison Stewart, Interim Co-Executive Director, Advocacy and Public Policy Cycle Toronto (MM.Supp)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM6.17 be referred to the Infrastructure and Environment Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) May-12-2023 2:49 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM6.17 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 23 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Brad Bradford, Alejandra Bravo, Jon Burnside, Shelley Carroll, Lily Cheng, Mike Colle, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Paula Fletcher, Ausma Malik, Nick Mantas, Josh Matlow, Jennifer McKelvie, Chris Moise, Amber Morley, Jamaal Myers, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Dianne Saxe, Michael Thompson
Total members that voted No: 2 Members that voted No are Stephen Holyday, James Pasternak
Total members that were Absent: 0 Members that were absent are
Source: Toronto City Clerk at