Item - 2020.MM26.6

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on November 25, 2020 without amendments.

MM26.6 - Better Billing: Increasing uptake for monthly water billing and COVID relief for seniors and small businesses - by Councillor Brad Bradford, seconded by Councillor Paul Ainslie

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on November 25 and 26, 2020, adopted the following:


1.  City Council request the Director, Revenue Services, in consultation with the General Manager, Toronto Water, to provide an update through the 2021 budget process on the uptake of monthly water billing, including:


a.  a review of program uptake for monthly utility billing, including opportunities to increase uptake of online billing for Toronto Water customers;

b.  estimated cost of providing the option for monthly residential water billing to avoid unexpected, large increases in billing amounts; and

c.  the status of moving water billing to an entirely online system.

2.  City Council request the Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer, in consultation with the General Manager, Toronto Water and other relevant divisions, to explore opportunities in the 2021 Budget to provide additional billing relief to low income seniors and businesses impacted by the COVID-19 Pandemic in instances where they have experienced higher than usual water bills but do not meet the thresholds or criteria to qualify for relief, such as a three-fold increase in their typical bill.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM26.6 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Nov-26-2020 6:22 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM26.6 - Adopt the Item
Total members that voted Yes: 22 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Ana Bail„o, Brad Bradford, Shelley Carroll, Mike Colle, Joe Cressy, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mark Grimes, Cynthia Lai, Mike Layton, Josh Matlow, Jennifer McKelvie, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 3 Members that voted No are Gary Crawford, Stephen Holyday, Jaye Robinson
Total members that were Absent: 0 Members that were absent are
Source: Toronto City Clerk at