Item - 2018.MM38.17

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on March 26, 2018 without amendments.

MM38.17 - Request for a report on a strategy to re-purpose City computers and IT equipment - by Councillor Joe Mihevc, seconded by Councillor Sarah Doucette

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on March 26 and 27, 2018, adopted the following:


1.  City Council direct the Chief Information Officer and the Chief Purchasing Officer to prepare a report on a digital inclusion and digital equity approach to re-purpose City computers and other appropriate IT equipment; such approach should be developed and implemented in consultation with other City Divisions and charitable social enterprise organizations that refurbish computer equipment, and to report back to City Council through the Government Management Committee in the first quarter of 2019.  


2.  City Council request the City Manager to consider this approach as an element in the next Council term action plan for the City of Toronto's Poverty Reduction Strategy.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM38.17 be referred to the Government Management Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Mar-27-2018 2:41 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM38.17 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 30 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Shelley Carroll, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Hart, Michelle Holland, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, Michael Thompson, Lucy Troisi, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 9 Members that voted No are Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Josh Colle, Janet Davis, Stephen Holyday, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), David Shiner
Total members that were Absent: 6 Members that were absent are Ana Bail„o, Gary Crawford, Sarah Doucette, Jim Karygiannis, Giorgio Mammoliti, John Tory

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at