Item - 2017.MM35.5

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on December 5, 2017 without amendments.

MM35.5 - Uber Data Breach - by Councillor Janet Davis, seconded by Councillor Shelley Carroll

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on December 5, 6, 7 and 8, 2017, adopted the following:


1.  City Council direct the City Manager to demand that Uber Technologies Incorporated disclose the information related to the data breach, as stated in the conditions of their license agreement with the City of Toronto, in order to know how many people in Toronto have had their personal data accessed and what type of private information was released.


2.  City Council direct the City Manager to ask that Uber evaluate and implement areas where it could strengthen its security measures to protect the private information of the citizens of Toronto.


3.  City Council direct the City Manager to ask Uber Technologies Incorporated to inform the City of Toronto of how and when they are informing all affected clients and drivers of the breach of their personal information.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM35.5 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Dec-06-2017 5:14 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM35.5 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 27 Members that voted Yes are Maria Augimeri, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Joe Cressy, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Jim Hart, Michelle Holland, Stephen Holyday, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, Lucy Troisi, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 9 Members that voted No are Paul Ainslie, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Mark Grimes, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Frances Nunziata (Chair), David Shiner
Total members that were Absent: 9 Members that were absent are Ana Bail„o, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, John Filion, Mary Fragedakis, Giorgio Mammoliti, Anthony Perruzza, Michael Thompson, John Tory

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at