Item - 2017.MM35.14

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on December 5, 2017 without amendments.

MM35.14 - Creating a Dog Off-Leash Area in the Junction Triangle - by Councillor Ana Bail„o, seconded by Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon

Decision Type:
18 - Davenport

City Council Decision

City Council on December 5, 6, 7 and 8, 2017, adopted the following:


1.  City Council direct the General Manager, Parks, Forestry and Recreation to hold a community meeting in the first quarter of 2018 with the Ward Councillor in the Junction Triangle neighbourhood to present:

a.  a possible design for a dog off-leash area at Erwin Krickhahn Park; and

b.  a summary of current parks with dog off-leash areas that are in similar in size to Erwin Krickhahn Park, even if created prior to the establishment of the current People, Dog and Parks Off-leash policy.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM35.14 be referred to the Parks and Environment Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Dec-06-2017 5:24 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM35.14 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 38 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Hart, Michelle Holland, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, Lucy Troisi, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 2 Members that voted No are John Campbell, Michael Ford
Total members that were Absent: 5 Members that were absent are Gary Crawford, Paula Fletcher, Giorgio Mammoliti, Anthony Perruzza, John Tory

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at