Item - 2017.MM31.15

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on July 4, 2017 and postponed its consideration to a later date. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the deferral.

MM31.15 - Exempting the North York Women's Shelter from Planning Application Fees, specifically Site Plan - by Councillor James Pasternak, seconded by Councillor Josh Matlow

Decision Type:
10 - York Centre

City Council Decision

City Council on July 4, 5, 6 and 7, 2017, deferred Motion MM31.15 to the October 2, 3 and 4, 2017 Council meeting or to a special meeting to be called by the Mayor. 

Background Information (City Council)

Member Motion MM31.15
(July 5, 2017) Fiscal Impact Statement from the Deputy City Manager and Chief Financial Officer

Communications (City Council)

(June 29, 2017) Letter from Staff Counsellors at the North York Women's Shelter, Members of Local 518, Ontario Public Service Employees Union (MM.Supp.MM31.15.1)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM31.15 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Jul-05-2017 2:37 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM31.15 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 31 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Hart, Michelle Holland, Mike Layton, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 12 Members that voted No are John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Janet Davis, Sarah Doucette, Michael Ford, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Chin Lee, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Michael Thompson
Total members that were Absent: 2 Members that were absent are Pam McConnell, David Shiner

1 - Motion to Defer Item moved by Mayor John Tory (Carried)

That City Council defer consideration of this Item remaining on the agenda to the October 2, 3 and 4, 2017 Council meeting or to a special meeting to be called by the Mayor.

Source: Toronto City Clerk at