Item - 2017.MM31.14

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on July 4, 2017 without amendments.

MM31.14 - Reinstating the City's LGBTQ2S+ Community Advisory Committee - by Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam, seconded by Councillor Paul Ainslie

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on July 4, 5, 6 and 7, 2017, adopted the following:


1. City Council direct the City Manager in consultation with the Director, Equity, Diversity and Human Rights and the Executive Director, Social Development, Finance and Administration to establish a new Community Advisory Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Two-Spirited Issues and report back to the October 24, 2017 meeting of the Executive Committee with recommended terms of reference and a composition.

Background Information (City Council)

Communications (City Council)

(July 4, 2017) Petition from Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam, Ward 27, Toronto Centre-Rosedale, headed "Re-instate the Community Advisory Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, and to Increase City Funding to Community-based HIV/AIDS Programming", containing the signatures of approximately 271 persons, filed during the Routine Matters portion of the meeting (MM.New)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM31.14 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Jul-05-2017 2:36 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM31.14 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 41 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bailo, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Hart, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Jon Burnside
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are Michelle Holland, Pam McConnell, David Shiner
Source: Toronto City Clerk at