Item - 2017.MM27.33

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on March 28, 2017 without amendments.

MM27.33 - Increasing Speeding Fines on Residential Streets, in School Zones, and Around Playgrounds and Daycare Centres - by Councillor Mark Grimes, seconded by Councillor Mike Layton

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on March 28 and 29, 2017, adopted the following:


1.   City Council request an update on Member Motion MM3.4, adopted by City Council on February 10, 2015, requesting a report to the Public Works and Infrastructure Committee on the feasibility and mechanism to increase speeding fines on residential streets, in school zones, and around playgrounds and daycare centres.


2.  City Council direct the City Manager to request the Province of Ontario to allow for a mechanism to double the fine for speeding on residential streets, in school zones, and around playgrounds and daycare centres.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM27.33 be referred to the Public Works and Infrastructure Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Mar-29-2017 2:51 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM27.33 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 42 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Michelle Holland, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Denzil Minnan-Wong
Total members that were Absent: 2 Members that were absent are John Campbell, Ron Moeser
Source: Toronto City Clerk at