Item - 2017.CC35.11

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on December 5, 2017 without amendments.

CC35.11 - Defining prepared meals in Chapter 510, Holiday Shopping

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on December 5, 6, 7 and 8, 2017, adopted the following:


1. City Council amend Municipal Code Chapter 510, Holiday Shopping, as follows:


a.  to define the term "prepared meal" as "any food product that has undergone preparation with the intent to offer it for immediate consumption as a meal";


b.  to define the term "preparation" as "cooking, chopping, baking, combining of ingredients, or other processes to make food ready for immediate consumption"; and


c.  to define the words "goods or services in the form of, or in connection with, prepared meals" as "a prepared meal, services required to sell or prepare a prepared meal, or any good or service provided for the purpose of the immediate consumption of the prepared meal".

Background Information (City Council)

(November 28, 2017) Report from the City Solicitor on Defining prepared meals in Chapter 510, Holiday Shopping (CC35.11)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Dec-05-2017 10:55 AM

Result: Carried Majority Required - CC35.11 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 38 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Mark Grimes, Jim Hart, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Neethan Shan, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Lucy Troisi, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Michael Ford
Total members that were Absent: 6 Members that were absent are Justin J. Di Ciano, John Filion, Mary Fragedakis, Michelle Holland, Denzil Minnan-Wong, David Shiner
Source: Toronto City Clerk at