Item - 2016.MM22.5

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on November 8, 2016 without amendments.

MM22.5 - Protecting Live Music Venues in Toronto - by Councillor Josh Colle, seconded by Councillor John Filion

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on November 8 and 9, 2016, adopted the following:


1.  City Council direct the General Manager, Economic Development and Culture and the Chief Planner and Executive Director, City Planning to:


a.  develop a co-ordinated strategy to preserve existing live music venues in the City of Toronto;


b.  designate senior staff members in the City Planning, Municipal Licensing and Standards and Toronto Building Divisions to act as liaisons with the City's Film and Entertainment Industries staff to provide advice to individuals or organizations wishing to establish music venues;


c.  examine changes to regulatory frameworks to encourage the establishment of both traditional and temporary (pop-up) new live music venues in Toronto, such examination to include whether such venues could be included in employment land use categories;


d.  review strategies which have been successfully used in other jurisdictions, including financial incentives, to support live music venues;


e.  create an inventory of live music venues currently operating in the City of Toronto; and


f.  consult with the Toronto Music Advisory Council and other industry stakeholders on a to e above,


and report to the Toronto Music Advisory Council and the Economic Development Committee as soon as possible in 2017.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM22.5 be referred to the Economic Development Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Nov-09-2016 5:33 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM22.5 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 33 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, Christin Carmichael Greb, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, John Tory
Total members that voted No: 6 Members that voted No are John Campbell, Shelley Carroll, Janet Davis, Stephen Holyday, Michael Thompson, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that were Absent: 5 Members that were absent are Vincent Crisanti, Michelle Holland, Giorgio Mammoliti, Pam McConnell, Ron Moeser

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at