Item - 2016.MM17.9

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on March 31, 2016 without amendments.

MM17.9 - Data regarding deaths in Toronto's Homeless Community - by Councillor Paul Ainslie, seconded by Councillor Joe Cressy

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on March 31 and April 1, 2016, adopted the following:


1.  City Council direct the City Manager to instruct the appropriate City staff to collect all relevant data related to the deaths of homeless individuals for occurrences within and outside homeless shelters.


2.  City Council direct that the data collected be shared with the public, agencies, City divisions and Provincial Government ministries for the purposes of influencing decision making through policy and legislation.


3.  City Council direct the City Manager to correspond with the appropriate staff within the Government of Ontario in support of introducing a provincial mandate to track all deaths of homeless individuals for the purposes of data collection to introduce policy and legislation. 

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM17.9 be referred to the Community Development and Recreation Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Apr-01-2016 2:17 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM17.9 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 36 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Stephen Holyday, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Jim Karygiannis
Total members that were Absent: 7 Members that were absent are Christin Carmichael Greb, Josh Colle, Michelle Holland, Giorgio Mammoliti, Ron Moeser, James Pasternak, Jaye Robinson
Source: Toronto City Clerk at