Item - 2016.MM17.7

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on March 31, 2016 without amendments.

MM17.7 - Support for Bill 158, Saving the Girl Next Door Act - by Councillor Paul Ainslie, seconded by Councillor Mike Layton

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on March 31 and April 1, 2016, adopted the following:


1.  City Council support Bill 158, Saving the Girl Next Door Act, 2016, an Act to enact the Human Trafficking Awareness Day Act, 2016 and the Child Sexual Exploitation and Human Trafficking Act, 2016 and to amend Christopher’s Law (Sex Offender Registry).


2. City Council support the Report of the Select Committee on Sexual Violence and Harassment dated December 10, 2015.


3.  City Council direct the City Manager to write to Laurie Scott, Member of Provincial Parliament and appropriate officials within the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, advising of City Councils' support of Bill 158 and the Select Committee report.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM17.7 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Apr-01-2016 2:14 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM17.7 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 34 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, Gord Perks, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 0 Members that voted No are
Total members that were Absent: 10 Members that were absent are Christin Carmichael Greb, Josh Colle, John Filion, Michelle Holland, Giorgio Mammoliti, Pam McConnell, Ron Moeser, James Pasternak, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson
Source: Toronto City Clerk at