Item - 2015.MM9.29

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on September 30, 2015 without amendments.

MM9.29 - New Affordable Non-Profit Housing Opportunity on Homewood Avenue - by Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam, seconded by Councillor Ana Bail„o

Decision Type:
27 - Toronto Centre-Rosedale

City Council Decision

City Council on September 30, October 1 and 2, 2015, adopted the following:


 1.  City Council request the Director, Affordable Housing Office, to work with Real Estate Services to conduct the necessary due diligence concerning the purchase and renovation of the properties and buildings at 63 and 65 Homewood Avenue for conversion to affordable rental housing.


2.  City Council request the Director, Affordable Housing Office, and the Chief Corporate Officer to report to the November 27, 2015 meeting of the Affordable Housing Committee on the results of the due diligence, including negotiations with the property owner, and the specific funds required to purchase and renovate the property for use by a non-profit housing provider, and to confirm the availability of the Section 37 funds and any other proposed sources of funding required.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM9.29 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Oct-01-2015 3:04 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM9.29 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 42 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 0 Members that voted No are
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are John Filion, Rob Ford, David Shiner

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at