Item - 2015.MM6.6

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on May 5, 2015 and postponed its consideration to a later date. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the deferral.

MM6.6 - Request to Protect a 250 Year Old Red Oak Tree, Thought to be the Largest and Oldest Red Oak in Toronto - by Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti, seconded by Councillor Sarah Doucette

Decision Type:
7 - York West

City Council Decision

City Council on May 5, 6 and 7, 2015, deferred consideration of Motion MM6.6 until the June 10 and 11, 2015 City Council meeting.

Confidential Attachment - A proposed or pending acquisition or sale of land for municipal or local board purposes

Background Information (City Council)

Revised Member Motion MM6.6
Attachment 1 - Photographs of the Red Oak Tree
(April 14, 2015) Attachment 2 - Letter from David Grant, Founder and Director, Cabbagetown ReLeaf, Rob Keen, RPF, CEO, Forests Ontario and Peter Wynnyczuk, Executive Director, Ontario Urban Forest Council
Confidential Fiscal Impact Statement from the Deputy City Manager and Chief Financial Officer

Communications (City Council)

(May 7, 2015) Submission from Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti, Ward 7, York West - North York Mirror Article on the 250-year old Red Oak Tree and photographs of the tree (MM.New.MM6.6.1)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM6.6 be referred to the Executive Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) May-06-2015 2:28 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - MM6.6 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 29 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Michelle Berardinetti, Jon Burnside, Shelley Carroll, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Jim Karygiannis, Mike Layton, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Cesar Palacio, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 9 Members that voted No are John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Raymond Cho, Stephen Holyday, Norman Kelly, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), James Pasternak
Total members that were Absent: 7 Members that were absent are Ana Bail„o, John Filion, Rob Ford, Chin Lee, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory

1 - Motion to Defer Item moved by Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti (Carried)

That consideration of the item be deferred until the June 10 and 11, 2015 meeting of City Council.

Source: Toronto City Clerk at