Item - 2015.MM11.48

Tracking Status

MM11.48 - Amending the composition of the City's Theatre Boards to add two additional public members - by Councillor Gary Crawford, seconded by Councillor Shelley Carroll

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on December 9 and 10, 2015, adopted the following:


1.  City Council amend the composition of the City's four theatre boards by adding two additional public members to the boards of directors  of Civic Theatre Toronto, the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, the Hummingbird (Sony) Centre for the Performing Arts, and the Toronto Centre for the Arts.


2. City Council request the Theatres Nominating Panel to meet at its earliest convenience to recommend two candidates for appointment to the four theatre boards.

City Council Decision Advice and Other Information

City Council re-opened Item EX7.15 only as it pertains to the composition of the City's Theatre Boards.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Introduce Motion without Notice moved by Councillor Gary Crawford (Carried)

That Councillor Gary Crawford be permitted to add to the agenda of today's meeting an urgent Motion without Notice concerning:


Amending the composition of the City's theatre boards by adding two additional public members


Reason for Urgency:


This Motion is urgent as the apointment of public members is before City Council at this meeting.

Motion to Re-open Item (Carried)

Vote (Re-open Item) Dec-10-2015 3:12 PM

Result: Carried Majority Required - MM11.48 - Re-open Item EX7.15
Total members that voted Yes: 41 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are David Shiner
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are Janet Davis, Rob Ford, Giorgio Mammoliti

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)
Source: Toronto City Clerk at