Item - 2015.MM10.4

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on November 3, 2015 and referred this item to an official or another committee or body. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the referral.

MM10.4 - Request for a detailed report on the feasibility of the City of Toronto displaying its 2017 New Year's fireworks from the CN Tower as well as Nathan Phillips Square - by Councillor Jim Karygiannis, seconded by Councillor Shelley Carroll

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on November 3 and 4, 2015, referred Motion MM10.4 to the Economic Development Committee.

Background Information (City Council)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Lost)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM10.4 be referred to the Economic Development Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Nov-04-2015 2:27 PM

Result: Lost Two-Thirds Required - MM10.4 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 23 Members that voted Yes are Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, John Filion, Mary Fragedakis, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, John Tory
Total members that voted No: 16 Members that voted No are Paul Ainslie, Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Gary Crawford, Sarah Doucette, Stephen Holyday, Mike Layton, Giorgio Mammoliti, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, James Pasternak, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that were Absent: 6 Members that were absent are Josh Colle, Paula Fletcher, Rob Ford, Mark Grimes, Ron Moeser, Michael Thompson
Source: Toronto City Clerk at