Item - 2015.CC2.1

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on December 11, 2014 without amendments.
  • See also By-law 76-2015

CC2.1 - Procedures By-Law Amendment regarding Deputy Mayors

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on December 11, 2014, adopted the following:


City Council amend the Council Procedures to provide for the following:


1.         The establishment of up to four deputy Mayors, one to assist the Mayor in each of the four regions of the city, to be appointed and removed by the Mayor.


2.         The requirement for the Mayor to designate one of the four deputy mayors as a first Deputy Mayor who shall: 


            a.         perform the roles and functions assigned to the deputy mayor elsewhere in the Council Procedures and the Municipal Code; and


            b.         act as Mayor when the Mayor is absent or the office is vacant.

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Dec-11-2014 2:17 PM

Result: Carried Two-Thirds Required - CC2.1 - Adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 37 Members that voted Yes are Ana Bail„o, John Campbell, Christin Carmichael Greb, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Ciano, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Stephen Holyday, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 1 Members that voted No are Rob Ford
Total members that were Absent: 7 Members that were absent are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Michelle Berardinetti, Jon Burnside, Jim Karygiannis, Giorgio Mammoliti, Ron Moeser
Source: Toronto City Clerk at