Item - 2013.MM30.8

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on February 20, 2013 and referred this item to an official or another committee or body. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the referral.

MM30.8 - Exploring Term Limits for City Councillors and Mayor - by Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon, seconded by Councillor Jaye Robinson

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on February 20 and 21, 2013, referred Motion MM30.8 to the Executive Committee. 

Background Information (City Council)

Member Motion MM30.8
(February 5, 2013) Letter from Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon, Ward 32, Beaches-East York

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Lost)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM30.8 be referred to the Executive Committee.  A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Feb-21-2013 2:54 PM

Result: Lost Two-Thirds Required - MM30.8 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 16 Members that voted Yes are Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Josh Colle, Mike Del Grande, Sarah Doucette, Doug Ford, Rob Ford, Mark Grimes, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Peter Milczyn, Ron Moeser, Cesar Palacio, Jaye Robinson, Karen Stintz, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 28 Members that voted No are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Frank Di Giorgio, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Doug Holyday, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Pam McConnell, Joe Mihevc, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), John Parker, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, Adam Vaughan
Total members that were Absent: 1 Members that were absent are Giorgio Mammoliti
Source: Toronto City Clerk at