Item - 2012.CC24.4

Tracking Status

  • City Council adopted this item on June 6, 2012 without amendments.

CC24.4 - Renaming the Toronto Island Ferry Terminal the Jack Layton Ferry Terminal

Decision Type:
28 - Toronto Centre-Rosedale

City Council Decision

City Council on June 6, 7 and 8, 2012, adopted the following:


1.         City Council waive eligibility requirement 5.2.2 of the Honourific and Street Naming Policy stipulating a two-year waiting period and approve the renaming of the Toronto Island Ferry Terminal to the Jack Layton Ferry Terminal.


2.         City Council direct the General Manager of Parks, Forestry and Recreation to implement suitable signage at the terminal.


3.         City Council authorize the appropriate officials to take the necessary action to give effect to Council’s decision.

Background Information (City Council)

(May 29, 2012) Report from Mayor Rob Ford on the Renaming of the Toronto Island Ferry Terminal as the Jack Layton Ferry Terminal (CC24.4)

Communications (City Council)

(June 1, 2012) E-mail from Alanna Clancy (CC.Supp.CC24.4.1)
(June 2, 2012) E-mail from Hamish Wilson (CC.Supp.CC24.4.2)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item) Jun-06-2012 11:02 AM

Result: Carried Majority Required - CC24.4 - adopt the item
Total members that voted Yes: 41 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Frank Di Giorgio, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Doug Ford, Rob Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Doug Holyday, Norman Kelly, Chin Lee, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Peter Milczyn, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, John Parker, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, Adam Vaughan, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 0 Members that voted No are
Total members that were Absent: 4 Members that were absent are Mike Del Grande, Mike Layton, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Karen Stintz
Source: Toronto City Clerk at