Item - 2011.MM9.4

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on June 14, 2011 and referred this item to an official or another committee or body. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the referral.

MM9.4 - Protecting pedestrians at the 100 most dangerous intersections in Toronto, by Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker, seconded by Councillor Joe Mihevc

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on June 14 and 15, 2011, referred Motion MM9.4 to the Public Works and Infrastructure Committee.

Background Information (City Council)

Member Motion MM9.4
Map Attachment of Intersections
(June 15, 2011) Fiscal Impact Statement from the Deputy City Manager and Chief Financial Officer

Communications (City Council)

(June 15, 2011) E-mail from Dylan Reid, former Co-Chair, Toronto Pedestrian Committee (MM.New.MM9.4.1)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Lost)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM9.4 be referred to the Public Works and Infrastructure Committee.  A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Jun-15-2011 2:43 PM

Result: Lost Two-Thirds Required - MM9.4 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 18 Members that voted Yes are Maria Augimeri, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Vincent Crisanti, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Adam Vaughan, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 24 Members that voted No are Paul Ainslie, Ana Bail„o, Michelle Berardinetti, Gary Crawford, Mike Del Grande, Frank Di Giorgio, Doug Ford, Rob Ford, Doug Holyday, Norman Kelly, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Peter Milczyn, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, John Parker, James Pasternak, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Karen Stintz, Michael Thompson
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are Shelley Carroll, Janet Davis, Mark Grimes
Source: Toronto City Clerk at