Item - 2011.MM5.7

Tracking Status

  • A motion to add this item to the agenda of City Council on March 8, 2011 failed. This item was not considered by City Council.

MM5.7 - Reconstitution of Board of Directors of the Toronto Community Housing Corporation (TCHC) - by Deputy Mayor Holyday, seconded by Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon

Decision Type:
Intro Failed

City Council Decision

City Council on March 8 and 9, 2011, did not waive notice to permit introduction of MM5.7 at this Council meeting.

City Council Decision Advice and Other Information

City Council, at its Special meeting on March 9, 2011, considered a new business Item from Mayor Rob Ford headed "Toronto Community Housing Corporation Board of Directors".  See Item CC6.1 for City Council's decision on that Item.

Confidential Attachment - Personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees

Background Information (City Council)

Member Motion MM5.7
Attachment to MM5.7 - TCHC Shareholder Amendment
Confidential Attachment 1 to MM5.7

Communications (City Council)

(March 4, 2011) Letter from Councillor John Parker, Ward 26 - Don Valley West (MM.Supp.MM5.7.1)
(March 5, 2011) E-mail from Ron Struys (MM.Supp.MM5.7.2)
(March 4, 2011) Letter from Councillor Frances Nunziata, Ward 11 York South-Weston (MM.New.MM5.7.3)
(March 8, 2011) Letter from Councillor Maria Augimeri, Ward 9 York Centre (MM.New.MM5.7.4)
(March 8, 2011) Letter from Catherine Wilkinson, Director Toronto Community Housing (MM.New.MM5.7.5)
(March 8, 2011) Letter from Dan King, Tenant Director, Toronto Community Housing Corporation (MM.New.MM5.7.6)
(March 8, 2011) E-mail from Linda Coltman (MM.New.MM5.7.7)
(March 8, 2011) E-mail from Eva Tavares (MM.New.MM5.7.8)
(March 7, 2011) Letter from Councillor Raymond Cho, Ward 42 Scarborough-Rouge (MM.New.MM5.7.9)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Notice (Lost)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the necessary provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, need to be waived to permit introduction of Motion MM5.7.  A two‑thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive notice.

Vote (Waive Notice) Mar-08-2011 10:35 AM

Result: Lost Two-Thirds Required - MM5.7 - waive notice
Total members that voted Yes: 26 Members that voted Yes are Paul Ainslie, Ana Bail„o, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Mike Del Grande, Frank Di Giorgio, Doug Ford, Rob Ford, Doug Holyday, Norman Kelly, Chin Lee, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Peter Milczyn, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, John Parker, James Pasternak, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Karen Stintz, Michael Thompson
Total members that voted No: 16 Members that voted No are Maria Augimeri, Shelley Carroll, Raymond Cho, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Sarah Doucette, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mike Layton, Pam McConnell, Joe Mihevc, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Adam Vaughan, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are Michelle Berardinetti, Mark Grimes, Ron Moeser
Source: Toronto City Clerk at