Item - 2011.MM13.2

Tracking Status

  • City Council considered this item on October 24, 2011 and referred this item to an official or another committee or body. Consult the text of the decision for further information on the referral.

MM13.2 - Endorsing the peaceful protests of the Occupy Toronto Movement - by Councillor Gord Perks, seconded by Councillor Shelley Carroll

Decision Type:

City Council Decision

City Council on October 24 and 25, 2011, referred Motion MM13.2 to the Executive Committee.

Background Information (City Council)

Communications (City Council)

(October 24, 2011) E-mail from Aidan Gowland (MM.New.MM13.2.1)

Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Lost)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM13.2 be referred to the Executive Committee.  A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral) Oct-25-2011 2:27 PM

Result: Lost Two-Thirds Required - MM13.2 - Waive referral
Total members that voted Yes: 18 Members that voted Yes are Maria Augimeri, Ana Bail„o, Shelley Carroll, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Sarah Doucette, Paula Fletcher, Mary Fragedakis, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Michael Thompson, Adam Vaughan, Kristyn Wong-Tam
Total members that voted No: 24 Members that voted No are Paul Ainslie, Michelle Berardinetti, Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Vincent Crisanti, Mike Del Grande, Frank Di Giorgio, John Filion, Rob Ford, Doug Holyday, Norman Kelly, Gloria Lindsay Luby, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Peter Milczyn, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ron Moeser, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, John Parker, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, Karen Stintz
Total members that were Absent: 3 Members that were absent are Doug Ford, Mark Grimes, Pam McConnell
Source: Toronto City Clerk at